A Letter to My Daughter

In honor of International Women’s Day, a letter to my Lottie.

IMG_7392

Dear Lottie-Lou,

You are so awesome. There will be times in your life when you’ll forget that, so surround yourself with people that will remind you. You are so strong. Find people who support and respect that strength. Some folks will be threatened by your conviction, don’t let that deter you. Be who you know you are and do what you believe is right. You are so loving and compassionate. Love as fiercely as you do today, even if that means getting hurt. The world needs the type of love you have to give. You are hilarious. Don’t forget to find the humor in the everyday and share that humor with the world around you.

You have an insanely fantastic imagination and are an incredible artist. Keep creating the world you want to live in, and dreaming up new ideas. Imagination isn’t just for kids. You are brilliant and curious. Never stop learning.

You are uniquely you. You’ll try to fit into molds in your life, and live up to what you see as expectations. But, you’re the only you there will ever be. No one can tell you the right way to be you, that’s for you to decide.

I love you more than I could ever put into words, more than I can even fathom. There’s nothing that you could ever do to make me love you less. In fact, though it doesn’t seem possible, I love you more with each passing day. No matter what choices you make in life, I will be here for you to remind you what an incredible person you are.

You inspire me to be better a woman every day. Thank you! You’ll never know how much you’ve given me.

Love,
Mom

One thought on “A Letter to My Daughter

Leave a Reply

